Sakai Video Report: Sakai Overview

My co-worker brought the Sakai Video Report: Sakai Overview to my attention late last week.  I will need to share with the LMS group.  It is only 11 minutes long and worth the time if you support LMS.

A few points to listen for:

  • development cycle – releases set and coordinated by foundation upgrades, patches, new features contributed by community
  • role of foundation – to coordinate community not drive development
  • scalability of  implementation – framework built for large implementations yet scales down for small group collaboration/pilot/implementation
  • import/export of content – standards based easy in/easy out content is granular and provides IT organizations exit strategies
  • collaborative framework –  thus can be used for coursework, research, institutional projects basically any collaborative project.

Sakai seems to fit within my developing beliefs of providing open learning environments that can be ‘closed’ as appropriate to provide ‘safe learning environments’.

I watched the video after reading a Running with Scissors post listening to the first 15 minutes or so of  the ELI 2007 presentation from Jerry Slezak and Jim Groom, Notes Toward an Open (Source) University.

Posted in LMS Migration, Social Software
2 comments on “Sakai Video Report: Sakai Overview
  1. Jim says:

    James,

    I am so fired up you actually listened to us -just be careful I at times am way too over-the-top 🙂 Also, I was excited to see that I am now officially a part of the “Thoughts and Experiments” blogroll and -you made my day.

    Thanks!

  2. James says:

    Glad to do it. Really interesting talk. I wish I was there to participate.

Leave a comment

Past Posts